TJ’s High Protein Organic Super Firm Tofu


 

 

Let me begin with saying I really like Trader Joe’s Firm Organic Tofu. I found that it’s pretty good, and priced fairly resonably compared to other stores. That is the tofu I usually buy at Trader Joe’s. Its got a pink label and comes packaged in water. This SUPER FIRM tofu on the other hand called HIGH PROTEIN ORGANIC SUPER FIRM TOFU is not sold package in water the way almost any tofu you have bought comes. This one is just sold wrapped in a plastic wrapper. I gave it a try but I wasn’t crazy about it. I found the texture too tough as a tofu lover, not to mention I am married to an Asian woman (She hated this tofu and made me promise never to buy it again!)

Still other people here have written in, via the Comments section saying they really like this Super Firm tofu. Therefor I think this may be one of those things that you will just have to try for yourself to see if you like it or the regular firm tofu. Some folks apparently really like it. I did not but then as the French say, “A Chacun Son Gout” (To each his own)

To me TJ’s frozen “Mandarin Chicken” is terrible but I know that it’s Trader Joe’s biggest selling product. Go figure.

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Trader Joe’s ORGANIC BAKED TOFU | Trader Joe’s Rants & Raves
  2. Ttrockwood
    Feb 04, 2019 @ 22:02:25

    This is good for certain recipes- but not great as a slice to eat as if it was a chunk of omni protein which may have been your mistake.
    It works great instead of cheese diced small for saag paneer, or slice somewhat thin and marinate and bake it for sandwiches.
    This is basically the same texture as the baked tofu, just without the seasoning on it already

    Like

    Reply

  3. DKD
    Apr 27, 2019 @ 11:37:29

    I have to disagree with you. As someone who has spent way too much time pressing water out of blocks of soggy tofu in a futile attempt to create a food item that doesn’t just crumble away to mushy nothingness this hefty block is a small miracle! It’s the only tofu I have ever found that can be cut up and manhandled into a breaded coating and fried without falling apart before it gets to the pan, or cooked up with a bit of soy sauce and spices is one of the best taco fillings around. I love it, my non-vegan family loves it (even the cat loves it, but I can’t explain that one, she’s weird).

    Like

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Trader Joe’s ORGANIC TOFU (& RECIPE) | Trader Joe’s Rants & Raves (mostly raves!)
  5. C
    Jul 03, 2019 @ 16:06:10

    I have to say I disagree with you as well. The fact that you don’t have to press this tofu saves so much time, which is well worth the extra cost. I flash pan-fried it and the outside was crispy and the inside was soft yet firm. Sorry to say, but I think this is a case of user error because mine came out amazing. If you overcook chicken, it will come out tough and rubbery as well.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Cyrus
    Apr 23, 2023 @ 17:33:17

    Yup, I am on the disagree chain. I like this tofu better than any I have ever tried. It’s hardy and feels substantive, rather than mushy or even slimy as some tofu feels in my mouth.

    Like

    Reply

  7. John A
    Jul 10, 2023 @ 16:23:10

    I think this is the best tofu TJ’s sells. If you think it has the consistency of shoe leather, you must not have any teeth! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment