TJ Oatmeal & Honey Soap


soap

Trader Joe’s Oatmeal and Honey Soap

RAVE – 
Now I should start with that I’m a guy. Meaning I am not that into soap. I usually buy Dalan soap at the dollar store, 3 bars for about $1. My wife on the other hand, buys soap at L’Occitane de Provence for herself that goes for $10 a bar. I feel guilty using it (was that 10 or 20 cents worth just now down the drain?)

But shopping at TJ’s a few weeks back I notice this soap: Trader Joe’s Oatmeal and Honey Soap (“pure vegetable soap”) in their Health and Beauty area. I smelled the package; hmm pretty nice. I could almost eat this. Cost? OMG, this nice looking package of soap goes for only $1.50 for 2 good size bars. Immediately my “wow even I can afford this” part of my brain says, “Buy it !” The low down when I actually tried it? TOTALLY GREAT STUFF. Wonderful. LOVE IT. This soap smells fantastic, and has such an incredibly creamy lather. My skin actually feels better, less dry. We know oatmeal is one of the best things for skin, incredibly soothing (Aveeno?). I can actually see oatmeal flakes in the soap as I use it. Did I mention how amazing it smells? I mean yummy. Another TJ’s item I tried once and immediately said, “Wow this is an amazing product. I’m going to buy this always from now on!”*. It doesn’t melt fast, but lasts a long time, truly an excellent value.

OK I get it now. Good soap is important, and this stuff is worth every penny. PLUS my wife also loves it. Yes, she still loves her $10 L’Occitane soap but now keeps the $10 soap solely for washing her face, so it lasts much longer. We actually now agree on buying soap. Amazing.

Trader Joe’s Oatmeal and Honey Soap WAS $1.49 NOW $1.69, 8 oz (two 4 oz bars). Ingredients include “…Glycerine, Essence of Oatmeal, Oatmeal Flakes, Honey…” TJ’s also sells a Tea Tree Oil Soap for a wee bit more. It looks good too. I haven’t tried that yet, but I will. Other TJ Beauty Stuff you’d recommend? Leave some suggestions.

*How many times do Trader Joe products have that effect on you? There’s a reason. They  have great buyers whose sole job is to scour the world for good products for Trader Joe’s.

One of Trader Joe’s best products: A RAVE!

FOLLOW UP: PRICE INCREASE – This product recently went from $1.49 to $1.69 (a 20% increase)

I’ve seen LOTS of price increases at TJ’s now.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Trader Joe’s TEA TREE OIL SOAP is #1 Soap for Summertime ! | Trader Joe’s Rants & Raves
  2. Judy Judy Judy
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 21:54:10

    Funny but I find this soap to have a very strong smell, and not one I like. It kind of smells like cloves or cinnamon — spicy. I Don’t see any ingredients on the package that I would think of to have this smell, but then again what does essence of oatmeal really smell like? Perhaps it smells like cloves. I myself am disappointed because the ingredient list had me thinking it was an Unscented soap. Not! It is definitely scented.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

